What Certifications Are Needed for Cyber Security

What Certifications Are Needed for Cyber Security?

Cyber attacks continue to be more sophisticated, and many organizations are seeking skilled professionals to protect their technologies and networks. If you’re going into the field of cyber and network security, certifications will effectively demonstrate your capabilities to employers. Let’s take a look at the top certifications you’ll need for a position in cyber security. 

Top Entry-Level Certifications for Cyber Security 

1. CompTIA Security+

Your ability to carry out important security functions is tested with the CompTIA Security+ certification exam. This exam has you demonstrate your baseline skills in assessing security measures of different environments and responding to potential threats.

Additional skills evaluated on the exam include:

  • Identifying and analyzing vulnerabilities and malware
  • Troubleshooting and responding to security issues
  • Explaining risk management techniques and procedures
  • Demonstrating the similarities and differences between cryptography concepts and public key infrastructure
  • Applying identity and access management

2. CompTIA A+

The CompTIA A+ certification exam assesses your knowledge and abilities in the fundamentals of computer hardware, networking, and operating systems. Some of the important abilities you’ll be tested on include:

  • Installing, configuring and managing computer operating systems
  • Virtualization and cloud computing
  • Explaining types of networks and connections
  • Ensuring connectivity for mobile devices through installation and configuration
  • Troubleshooting security issues

3. Certified Internet Webmaster Web Security Associate (CIW-WSA)

You’ll verify your ability to secure networks with the WSA certification exam. It includes identifying types of hacker activities and implementing security policies. Your knowledge will also be tested on the following areas:

  • Network security policies of corporations
  • Standards and implementations for encryption
  • Procedures for authentication 
  • Security responses and reporting
  • Prevention methods for hacker penetration

4. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

The CEH certification exam tests your ability to identify system weaknesses and perform ethical hacking techniques. This includes demonstrating how to use the same tools as malicious hackers, but in a lawful way. You’ll also be evaluated on:

  • Your knowledge of pen testing tools and devices
  • Your skills in data protection and security procedures
  • Your ethical hacking conduct and knowledge of laws pertaining to information security
  • Your ability to identify and prevent attacks and threats
  • Your background knowledge on networking basics and systems, including cloud computing and mobile platforms

5. Systems Security Certified Practitioner (ISC2 SSCP)

The SSCP certification exam validates your ability to abide by information security policies and follow security procedures for data confidentiality. You’ll demonstrate the proper methods of securing systems and applications while complying with a code of ethics. It also evaluates your skills in:

  • Accessing controls
  • Identifying and analyzing risks
  • Responding to incidents and performing recovery procedures
  • Securing networks and communications
  • Cryptography techniques

Become a Certified Cyber Security Professional

If you’re ready to launch your career in cyber security, we can help. At Cambridge, we prepare students to earn their cyber security certifications through our interactive online programs. Plus, our career services department will mentor you every step of the way and set you up for career success. Start your journey today by calling us at 877-206-4279 or send us a message

More on a cybersecurity certificate